HERRIMAN HIGH SCHOOL
Summer 2018 Class Schedule:
June 4-7, 2017 Class (Portable 1) 8AM to 12PM AND June 11-14, 2017 Class (Portable 1) 8AM to 12PM
June 18-21, 2017 Class (Portable 1) 8AM to 12PM AND June 25-28, 2017 Class (Portable 1) 8AM to 12PM
SUMMER DRIVERS EDUCATION REGISTRATION
INFORMATION AND MATERIALS WILL BE AVAILABLE IN MARCH!
Check Back Then!
Summer Driver Education Driving Ranges:
Students will be assigned to three driving ranges over the two-week course. Each range is two hours long and held each day from before class from 6AM to 8AM and again after class time 12PM to 2PM. Students sign up for their range dates on the first day of class.
WHAT EVERY PARENT SHOULD KNOW
1. Utah State Law requires students to complete 27 hours of classroom instruction. This generally means a student cannot miss more than 3 class periods per quarter, excused or unexcused.
2. Students are required to complete 6 hours of Driving Range instruction. Students are assigned to 3 two-hour sessions for the ranges. Scheduling takes place during the first week of the quarter. Please encourage your student to NOT miss his or her range times.
3. Students are required to complete 3 hours of Road driving with an instructor. Students are scheduled for road drives based on the date that they can get their license. In order to be placed on the list for road drives the following must be taken care of in advance:
a. The Driver Education Fee must be paid and the receipt shown to Mr. Hawkins
b. The student must have a valid Learner Permit and show it to Mr. Hawkins
4. The fee for Driver Education is $120. (Summer fee is $140). The fee is due by the 3rd week of the quarter or when registering for the Summer session.
5. Each quarter there is a MANDATORY Zero Fatalities Parent/Student Night. A representative from UDOT’s Zero Fatalities program will provide a teen driver safety presentation. Attendance by both parent and student is REQUIRED. This expectation is required at all high schools in our district. If you cannot attend on Herriman’s night, dates of other high school programs in Jordan School District are available by going to http://ut.zerofatalities.com/ and you can attend one of these for full credit. This MUST be done during the quarter that you are taking the Drivers Education course.
6. Students must obtain a driving Learner Permit from the Utah State Driver License Division AND drive with that permit for a minimum of 6 months before he or she can obtain their license. Students are required to drive a minimum of 40 hours (10 hours of that time at night) with their legal guardian. The cost of the Learner Permit is $15. PLEASE NOTE: Once a student has obtained their Learner Permit, he or she must show the permit to their teacher. Until they do this we assume that they don’t have a permit and will not schedule them for road drives or their road test.
7. The State now requires students to pass an online Safety and Trends Exam. This is done on the student’s own time. The website to use to complete this test is https://secure.utah.gov/dlexams/ and this can be done anytime. Call the State DLD (Driver License Division) at 801-983-0275 for needed technical help.
8. At Herriman High School we have approximately 1,000 students that go through the Driver Education program every school year. Our goal is to assist every student through the requirements of Driver Education so that they will be able to obtain their license on their eligibility date. Please understand that we will work very hard to be flexible with our student’s busy schedules, but we cannot customize schedules for every student. Please encourage (i.e. force) your student to be responsible and not miss, or be late for, scheduled Range and Road Driving appointments. Thank you!
QUESTIONS: Contact Brent Hawkins – firstname.lastname@example.org
DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM
The following is not a comprehensive description of our Driver Education program, but will help you to get a basic idea of how our system works.
I. Fee: $120 during the regular school year; $140 during Summer school.
II. Attendance: Utah State Law requires that students receive a minimum of 27 hours of classroom time for Driver Education. Any type of absence or tardy counts against a student’s 27 hours of instruction time regardless of whether it is excused or not. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO PASS THIS CLASS IF THE STATE MANDATED 27-HOUR MIMIMUM OF CLASS TIME IS NOT MET.
III. Course Objectives: It is our position that Driver Education is merely a “beginning” for students. While we cannot provide them with every driving experience and all-encompassing driving wisdom, we do believe that focusing on basic fundamentals of attitude and skill can help a driver education student begin to develop safe and sound driving habits that can become lifetime skills. The course objectives below are based upon a practical philosophy of defensive driving. We strive to help students to:
- Understand the importance of a mature, responsible driving attitude.
- Become 100% safety belt users.
- Understand the dangers and costs of distracted, impaired, aggressive, and drowsy driving.
- Begin learning basic driving skills.
- Learn and obey the rules of the road.
- Prepare to pass the State Written Driver License Exam and the State Road Test.
IV. Learner Permits: Students must have a valid Learner Permit in order to do any driving in the Herriman High School Drivers Education program. The best time to get a permit is approximately 15 years and 3-6 months of age. Getting a permit exactly at age 15 makes it virtually impossible to get your license before it expires on your 16th birthday. We highly encourage students to get their Learner Permit before taking the class, however, it is not required. Please go to https://dld.utah.gov/licensingid-cards/learner-permit/ for more specific information on how to get a valid Utah Learner Permit.
V. Licensing Requirements: In order for your son or daughter to be issued a Utah Driver License the following must be completed:
- 16 years of age at the time of application.
- Obtain a Learner Permit from the DLD (Driver License Division). The student is eligible to obtain his or her Learner Permit on their 15th birthday. (We recommend waiting 3-6 months after his or her birthday). They must pass the written test and health screening when applying for their Learner Permit in order to obtain their permit. Once the student has the permit they can practice driving with their parent or guardian and must complete 40 hours of driving with parents (10 hours of which are at night) before they can apply for their driver license. The student must also have his or her permit for a minimum of 6 months before he or she can obtain their drivers license.
- Complete Driver Education with a passing grade AND pay all Driver Education fees.
1. Classroom Instruction (27 hours)
2. Range Instruction (6 hours)
3. Road Instruction (3 hours behind-the-wheel with an instructor & 6 hours of observation)
a. PLEASE NOTE: Before a student may drive with an instructor on the road they MUST do the following:
i. Obtain a valid Learner Permit (& show it to Mr. Hawkins)
ii. Pay the Driver Education Fee (& show the receipt to Mr. Hawkins)
4. Pass the Utah State Written Exam (80% or better). This is the Learner Permit written test.
a. ***** Once a student has their Learner Permit they MUST bring it and show it to Mr. Hawkins so that he can get them on the schedule for Road Drives. *****
i. Remember, the Driver Education Fee is also required to be shown to Mr. Hawkins.
5. Pass the Road Test (-20 or better…-21+ = Fail). One attempt will be given at the high school. Additional attempts can be taken at the DLD (Driver License Division) and must be scheduled with them and for which they will charge an additional fee.
6. Pay the appropriate Herriman High School Driver Education fee.
a. ***** Once a student has paid their Driver Education fee to the Herriman High School Main Office they MUST bring it and show it to Mr. Hawkins so that he can get them on the schedule for Road Drives. *****
i. Remember, the Learner Permit is also required to be shown to Mr. Hawkins.
After completing these steps Mr. Hawkins will submit completion information to the State and the student can then go to the Driver License Division and obtain his/her driver license.
Utah Driver License Division (DLD)
Draper Office – 14555 S. Minuteman Drive, Draper, Utah 84020
Days: Monday - Friday
Hours: 7:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Phone: 801-965-4457 or 801-965-4437
Range & Road Driving Information
Please make sure that you attend ALL Range and Road dates. Please note: Range and Road driving are two different requirements. Students need to complete 6 hours of Range driving on our school driving range and DO NOT need to have their Learner Permit to drive on the Range. Student also need to complete 3 hours of Road driving with an instructor on the highway. To be scheduled for Road drives a student MUST have obtained their Learner Permit AND also paid the appropriate Driver Education fee.
Students MUST be ON TIME in order to attend the Range and receive credit for the Range. Failure to comply with the rules of the range or any misbehavior will result in immediate dismissal from the Range and possible exclusion from further Range and/or Road instruction.
You MUST be ON TIME for Road drives. Road drives can be scheduled before and after school. Morning drives can start as early as 5:00 a.m. Because of the large number of students needing to drive, it is very important that students are flexible about drive times and MUST attend their scheduled Road drives. NEVER assume that your drive is cancelled due to bad weather. The teacher will notify you if a drive needs to be cancelled, so please always show up for your Road drives.
PLEASE NOTE: Failure to attend a scheduled Range or Road session could result in the delay of completion of requirements for weeks or even months because of lack of availability for make-up times.
Refunds will NOT be given once a student has been scheduled for a Range.
SCHEDULING OF ROAD DRIVES
Students will be scheduled for Road drives after they have obtained a valid/current Learner Permit AND paid the Driver Education fee to the Herriman High Main Office.
[Remember: Both the Learner Permit and Fee Receipt MUST be shown to Mr. Hawkins]
It is our goal to help your son or daughter enjoy a good start in driving by helping him or her to develop a mature, responsible driving attitude and set of basic defensive driving skills. If you have specific questions or concerns, please communicate with me via email (see below). Email is the easiest and most convenient way for me to respond and get you the help that you need. Please leave a phone number in your communication if you would like for me to call you.
Brent Hawkins – email@example.com
Herriman High School - Drivers Education Department Chairperson